Head Of Department
Prof Cheryl Walter
Prof Cheryl Walter
Position: Head of Department
Department: Human Movement Science
Room: 125 0111
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 2628
Fax: 27 86 611 4703
Email: cheryl.walter@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: D.Phil
Expertise: Physical Education and Children's Health, Health promotion through physical activity
Responsibilities: Overseeing & managing the Human Movement Science Department

Academic Staff
Dr Maryna Baard
Dr Maryna Baard
Position: Senior Lecturer & Biokineticist
Department: Human Movement Science
Room: 125 - 0123
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 4518
Fax: None
Email: maryna.baard@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: D Phil
Expertise: Perceptual-motor development
Responsibilities: Teaching, Research, Academic administration, Research, Community engagement, A

Khatija
Dr khatija Bahdur
Position: Lecturer
Department: Human Movement Science
Room: 1250126
Location: South Campus
Phone: 0415044950
Email: khatija.bahdur@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD
Expertise: Exercise Physiology, Visual and cognition as it relates to sport, Science of football

Matthewb
Mr Matthew Bonnesse
Position: Lecturer
Department: School of Lifestyle Sciences
Room: Upstairs in HMS building (125)
Location: South Campus
Phone: 0415044714
Email: matthew.bonnesse@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: MA HMS (Sports Science)
Expertise: Sports Science and Coaching
Responsibilities: Lecturing/high performance testing and training

Mteteleli Biko
Mr Mteteleli Biko
Position: Associate Lecturer
Department: Human Movement Science
Room: 0022
Location: South Campus
Phone: 041 504 4881
Email: mteteleli.biko@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: BHMS, BA Honours Human Movement Science (Biokinetics)
Expertise: Exercise Science
Responsibilities: Lecturer and Biokineticst
My site: Building 125 (South Campus)

Mr Buhlebethu Dumbu
Mr Buhlebethu Dumbu
Position: FIFA/CIES/NMMU Administrative Manager, Lecturer's Assistant for Sport Management & Contract Lecturer
Department: Human Movement Science
Room: 0134
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 3881
Email: Buhlebethu.Dumbu@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: National Diploma Sport Management (Cum Laude) and FIFA/CIES/NMMU Postgraduate Certifcate in Sport Management
Expertise: Sport Management

Mrs Lisa Grenfell
Mrs Lisa Grenfell
Position: Senior Biokineticist: NMU Biokinetics & Sport Science Unit
Department: Human Movement Science
Room: 21
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 2603
Fax: 27 41 504 2770
Email: lisa.grenfell@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: MA (Exercise Science), BA (HMS), HDE, BA Hons Biokinetics,
Expertise: Biokinetics
Responsibilities: Senior Biokineticist, BSSU manager, lecturer

Mrs Gail Halforty
Mrs Gail Halforty
Position: Lecturer and Webmaster
Department: Human Movement Science
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 3872
Fax: 27 41 504 9872
Email: gail.halforty@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: M - Tech Marketing Management
Expertise: Sport Management, Sport Marketing

Aayesha Kholvadia
Dr Aayesha Kholvadia
Position: Senior lecturer
Department: Human Movement Science
Room: 0118
Location: South Campus
Phone: 041 504 4870
Email: Aayesha.Kholvadia@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD
Expertise: Health and wellness promotion, Chronic pain, Osteoarthritis, Knee Joint, Inter-professional practice development and photobiomodulation therapy
Responsibilities: Teaching and learning, clinical skills and research

Sue-Anne
Ms Sue-Anne Kock
Position: Lecturer
Department: Human Movement Science
Room: 0118
Location: South Campus
Phone: 041 504 4683
Email: sue-anne.kock@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: MA HMS
Expertise: Biokinetics

Mr Vernon Oosthuizen
Mr Vernon Oosthuizen
Position: Senior Lecturer; Programme Director NMU/FIFA/CIES Executive Programme in Sport Management
Department: Human Movement Science
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 3713
Email: vernon.oosthuizen@mandela.ac.za
Expertise: Sport Management, Sport Event Management

Ryan Raffan
Mr Ryan Raffan
Position: Lecturer
Department: Human Movement Science
Room: 125 0122
Location: South Campus
Phone: 041 504 2518
Email: ryan.raffan@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: MA HMS
Expertise: Motor Control & Learning, Skill acquisition

Support Staff
Mrs Shona Ellis
Mrs Shona Ellis
Position: Administrator: HMS & Sport Management Dept
Department: Human Movement Science
Room: Building 125, 1st floor, room 0112
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 4388
Fax: 086 611 4682
Email: shona.ellis@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: BTech: Business Management

Karen van Rensburg
Mrs Karen Van Rensburg
Position: Receptionist
Department: Human Movement Science
Room: 0015
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 2603
Fax: 041 504 1897
Email: karen.vanrensburg@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: Grade 12 and National Certificate (Private Secretaries)
Expertise: Accounts BSSU
Responsibilities: Reception, Accounts, Payments receivable, Telephone, General admin for BSSU

Ivy Petersen
Ivy Petersen
Position: Admin Assistant
Department: Human Movement Science
Room: Building 125 first floor reception
Location: South Campus
Phone: 041 504 2497
Email: Ivy.Petersen@mandela.ac.za