Change the world

Human Movement Science


Academic Staff
Prof Cheryl Walter
Prof Cheryl Walter
Position: HOD: Human Movement Science
Department: Human Movement Science
Room: 125 0111
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 2628
Fax: 27 86 611 4703
Email: cheryl.walter@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: D.Phil
Expertise: Recreation, Health promotion through physical activity

Dr Maryna Baard
Dr Maryna Baard
Position: Senior Lecturer & Biokineticist
Department: Human Movement Science
Room: 125 - 0123
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 4518
Fax: None
Email: maryna.baard@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: D Phil
Expertise: Perceptual-motor development

Mr Vernon Oosthuizen
Mr Vernon Oosthuizen
Position: Senior Lecturer; Programme Manager NMMU/FIFA/CIES Executive Programme in Sport Management
Department: Human Movement Science
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 3713
Email: vernon.oosthuizen@mandela.ac.za
Expertise: Sport Management, Sport Event Management

Mrs Gail Halforty
Mrs Gail Halforty
Position: Lecturer and Webmaster
Department: Human Movement Science
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 3872
Fax: 27 41 504 9872
Email: gail.halforty@mandela.ac.za
Expertise: Sport Management, Sport Marketing

Ryan Raffan
Mr Ryan Raffan
Position: Lecturer
Department: Human Movement Science
Room: 125 0122
Location: South Campus
Phone: 041 504 2518
Email: ryan.raffan@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: MA HMS
Expertise: Motor Control & Learning, Skill acquisition

Mkramer
Lecturer Mark Kramer
Position: Lecturer
Department: Human Movement Science
Room: 125 0110
Location: South Campus
Phone: 041 504 4630
Email: mark.kramer2@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: BCom HMS (cum laude), B HMS (Hons) Biokinetics (cum laude), MA Biokinetics (cum laude)
Expertise: Biokinetics, Biomechanics and Exercise Physiology

Khatija
Dr khatija Bahdur
Position: Lecturer
Department: Human Movement Science
Room: 1250126
Location: South Campus
Phone: 0415044950
Email: khatija.bahdur@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD
Expertise: Exercise Physiology, Visual and cognition as it relates to sport, Science of football

Mteteleli Biko
Mr Mteteleli Biko
Position: Associate Lecturer
Department: Human Movement Science
Room: 0022
Location: South Campus
Phone: 041 504 4881
Email: mteteleli.biko@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: BHMS, BA Honours Human Movement Science (Biokinetics)
Expertise: Exercise Science
My site: Building 125 (South Campus)

Sue-Anne
Ms Sue-Anne Kock
Position: Lecturer
Department: Human Movement Science
Room: 0118
Location: South Campus
Phone: 041 504 4683
Email: sue-anne.kock@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: MA HMS
Expertise: Biokinetics

Mrs Lisa Grenfell
Mrs Lisa Grenfell
Position: Senior Biokineticist: NMU Biokinetics & Sport Science Unit
Department: Human Movement Science
Room: 21
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 2603
Fax: 27 41 504 2770
Email: lisa.grenfell@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: MA (Exercise Science), BA (HMS), HDE, BA Hons Biokinetics,
Expertise: Biokinetics

Support Staff
Mrs Shona Ellis
Mrs Shona Ellis
Position: HMS & Sport Management Dept
Department: Human Movement Science
Room: Building 125, 1st floor, room 0112
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 4388
Fax: 086 611 4682
Email: shona.ellis@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: National Diploma: Business Management

Ms Karen van Rensburg
Ms Karen van Rensburg
Position: Administrator: Biokinetics & Sport Science Unit
Department: Human Movement Science
Room: Ground Floor
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 2603
Fax: 27 41 504 1897
Email: karen.vanrensburg@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: National Certificate (Private Secretary)